The Morning Stretch #2

As part of my morning stretch, I’m going to create my own writing prompt. Something short to get the creative juices flowing. Feel free to use it if you’d like.

Today’s prompt: Assign a color to a sound of your choice. Do sounds have color? I think so. The hum of the fan in my computer sounds gray; insinuating, distracting, fuzzy … malignant. If I have music playing, it fills the gaps like an evening fog filtering into low spots along the ground. Sometimes I believe that hum might be the gray matter between my ears leaking out and preventing cohesive thought.

——-

“What has been is what will be, and what has been done is what will be done; there is nothing new under the sun” Ecclesiastes 1:9

In the internet age, this is more true than ever. There are so many writers and runners blogging these days that it seems possible that any content one writes has already been done by someone else. Almost a thousand new books are being published every day. Being original in this new digital world is quite a challenge.

After having spent ten years as an electrician, I took a year transitioning into what I hope will become a writing career. Early on, I had an idea for a crime/thriller about a guy who uses electricity for murder and mayhem. Before I had put word one on paper, I saw a book at a newsstand with almost this same premise. What a depressing sight!

I have worried sometimes that projects I’m working on could be irrelevant and unwanted by the time they are published. But I have put that concern behind me. A writer must believe in his voice and his vision and concentrate on crafting the best story that he can.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Morning Stretch, Writing

Leave a Reply

