A chance to lose myself

“Harvest of the Heart” will be released this Tuesday, December 13 and so I have spent most of my time for the last several weeks trying to establish an internet “presence”, getting reviews, and preparing for a social media effort to support the release. This blog, Facebook, Twitter and other internet time-sinks have monopolized my attention. But, for much of Sunday, December 11, our internet service was down. Our provider is upgrading their service and I guess they ran into some glitches. I should have been bothered by the time that would be lost on marketing efforts with just forty-eight hours before the big day. Instead, I found myself eager to put it behind me and get back to what I love to do, and that is write.

For the first time in many weeks, I had what I consider to be a very productive writing day. Over one thousand words and finally some momentum toward completing a novella that has languished since HotH began its halting strides toward publication. Today reminded me why I have confidence that I will someday (maybe soon!) make it as a novelist. Once my mind reclaimed the thread of the story, I became enmeshed in the characters and scenes. It felt good to know that the ability to let a story flow through me is still there, waiting to be set loose again. During the writing of “Harvest of the Heart” there were days when my muse was so strong that I wrote three thousand words or more for days on end. Not all of it was great, some wasn’t even good; but the bones of the story fell in place and were fleshed out, ready to be molded into a novel.

The loss of internet today was truly a blessing. It reminded me that I love to write… that I need to write. So many great writers have the discipline to do this every day. I want to be one of them and so I must find the determination and self-control that will allow me to ignore the marketing and publicity harpies that snatch away my time, and give my muse the attention she demands, if only for a few hours each day.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal, Publishing and Marketing, Writing

One response to “A chance to lose myself

  1. Well said! I’m so glad you had such a productive writing day. I am anxious to read all that you’ve written.

Leave a Reply

