Daily Archives: November 22, 2011

Ending the fast with Mike’s Red Everything Soup

My fast-breaking meal (not the whole pot of course!)

The people spoke and I listened. My poll to choose the meal with which I would break my fast garnered almost 100 votes. The winner by 13 percentage points was the homemade vegetable soup.  After looking at a handful of recipes online (and not writing anything down!), I had a fantastic time gathering ingredients and cooking. I started early in the evening when the soup had a comfortable lead in the poll. It narrowed somewhat, but was never seriously challenged.

Because of the large red beet, the broth and many of the vegetables end up tinted a bright red. I can picture this served in green, decorative bowls and being a beautiful and delicious appetizer for a fancy Christmas dinner.

My recipe is entitled “Mike’s Red Everything Soup” and I am slowing devouring a small bowl of it as I write this post. It is the best vegetable soup I have ever tasted. (So says a starving man.) I used pretty much every vegetable I could find in our pantry or fridge.

Ingredients:       Notes:  1. None of the vegetables were peeled, just scrubbed thoroughly. 2. All sizes and measurements are approximate. In other words – I guessed at most everything!

6 cups of water                                                                       1/2 cup+  sliced mushrooms

1 large red beet cut into 1″ cubes                                                      1/4 cup brown rice

2 large potatoes cut into 1″ cubes             3/4 Tsp onion salt (or 1/2 med. onion)

1 large carrot cut into 1/2″ chunks                                                          1 teaspoon salt

1 small zucchini cut into 1/2″ slices and quartered        2 chicken bouillon cubes

2 medium broccoli crowns cut into bite size pcs.                                1 Tsp olive oil

1 stalk of celery, sliced 1/4″ thick                                                1/2 Tsp black pepper

1 healthy handful of fresh baby spinach leaves            1Tsp Worcestershire sauce

2 medium tomatoes cut into bite size chunks                         1/2 Tsp minced garlic

1 can of green beans (or 1-1/2 cups fresh)        A healthy sprinkle of parsley flakes

1/2 large green pepper cut in small pcs.               A healthy sprinkle of basil leaves

Directions:

1. Combine water, beets, potatoes, carrots, zucchini, the bouillon cubes, Worcestershire sauce, and all of the spices in a large pot, bring to a boil and allow to simmer for as long as you want, (but at least 45 min to 1 hour). I cooked this soup for a total of three plus hours, so that all the vegetables would be soft and easy to digest. This what you want coming off of a fast. You may want to adjust the cooking times to suit your taste.

2. Add the broccoli and celery after 45 minutes. Continue simmering for another 45m to 1 hour. (Add green beans & onions now if fresh)

3. Add all remaining ingredients and simmer for another 1/2 hour to 45 minutes.

This should serve 8-12 people with some left over. That is unless everyone comes back for seconds!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fasting and Health

So many choices! What to do? Have a poll!

If you haven’t been following my crazy 10-day fast during which I’ve extended my running streak to 45 days, you can catch up by clicking on “Fasting and Health” or “Running” in the Categories on the right column.

3 Comments

Filed under Fasting and Health, Personal, Running

Running Fast – The Final Run

Day Ten of the fast has arrived and I am at my computer before 5:00 a.m. dressed and ready to run, eager for the day to begin… and end. Somewhere around 9:00 p.m. this evening I will break my fast. I’m torn between being extremely relieved and a little disappointed. Work, running, and the banana/juice fast muted some of the expected effects of the fast that I enjoyed the last time.

A thin crescent moon was hanging above the eastern horizon like a white hammock against a dark blue sky. Was it waiting to provide a permanent resting place for me should this final test of my body go awry? If so, I am happy to report that it went unused. Cold, gusting breezes kept this from being as enjoyable and exhilarating as my last two “fast” runs, but it didn’t keep it from being faster. It was dark, I couldn’t see my watch, it was my last run of the ten-day fast, and I was accompanying Sid, my son-in-law, during his pre-work run. All this contributed to the fastest pace of this ten-day test of my body’s capacity to endure. Not that I couldn’t have gone a little faster, but I do still have fourteen hours of the fast yet to complete. This pace isn’t normally a challenge, but I worked hard for it this morning and I definitely felt close to my limits.

I’ll be doing another post this evening to report on this last day and my overall impressions. For now, I am about to spend a couple of hours babysitting my two-and-a-half week old grandson. So I guarantee Day Ten is getting off to a joyful start.

8 Comments

Filed under Fasting and Health, Running